31.2 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

APC Picks Akpabio As Senate President For 10th Assembly

National Working Committee (NWC), of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has anointed former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio, as the Senate President of the 10th Assembly.

Tajudeen Abbas from Kaduna State has also been named as the Speaker of the House.

National Publicity Secretary of the party, Felix Morka, disclosed this while briefing Journalists at the end of the NEC meeting held on Monday at the National Secretariat of the Party in Abuja.

“The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) met today, Monday, May 8, 2023 to consider reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-Elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, other Party leaders and stakeholders on zoning arrangement for 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-Elect and the leadership of the NWC. The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide.

“The zoning arrangement reported to the NWC is as follows: Senate President – South-South Senator Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom); Deputy Senate President – (North West), Senator Barau Jubrin (Kano).

‘Speaker, House of Representatives North West-Hon. Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna); Deputy Speaker (South East), Hon. Ben Kalu (Abia).

“We urge our party leaders, members and all Nigerians to continue to work for peace and progress of our country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition,” Morka said.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles