29.9 C
Thursday, April 25, 2024

BUK Mass Com Department Creates Platform For Alumni

In this new group, every member has an equal opportunity.

Department of Mass Communication, Faculty of Mass Communication, Bayero University, Kano, North West Nigeria, has created a Platform for its Alumni.

In a statement, accessed by Nigerian Kicker, the Head of Department, Mass Communication of the Institution, Professor Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi says, the name of the Platform is, “Bayero University Kano Mass Communication Alumni Association.”

“This is a forum of Alumni of Mass Communication Department, BUK, Kano. Based on consultations with our teachers, colleagues and other stakeholders, it is resolved that new BUMCAA WhatsApp group, be opened to resolve crisis on the previous one,” he said.

According to him, “this new group, every member has an equal opportunity. Also, each Class Chapter should have an Admin to add other members of their Class.”

He thanked everyone for their usual cooperation.

Meanwhile, Prof Kurfi has advised all members, who have not been reached with the announcement, wherever they are across the globe, to contact the following members of the new group for them to be added to the group.

They are:

1. Prof. Mainasara Yakubu Kurfi

2. Prof. Hajara Umar Sanda

3. Dr. Hadiza Ibrahim

4. J. S. Salihu

5. Muhammad Sani Uba

6. Dr. Nura Ibrahim

7. Rabiu Y. S

Prof Kurfi also briefed members of development of the Faculty.

“For tbose of you who have been away from the Department for long, I’m happy to inform you that Mass Communication Department, Bayero University, Kano has been transformed to a full fledged Faculty of Communication in 2016 with Prof. Umaru A. Pate, who tranfered his service from Unimaid to BUK, as the pioneer Dean of the Faculty from 2016 – 2018.

“Prof. Mustapha Nasir Malam took over from 2018 – 2022 as the 2nd Dean.

“Then, Prof. Umar Faruk Jibril from 2022 to date, as the 3rd Dean.

“Also, B.Sc. Mass Communication was unbundled into eight additional programmes as follows:
1. B.Sc. Advertising
2. B.Sc. Broadcasting
3. B.Sc. Development Communication
4. B.Sc. Film and Media Studies
5. B.Sc. Information and Media Studies
6. B.Sc. Journalism and Media Studies
7. B.Sc. Public Relations
8. B.Sc. Strategic Communication

“Four departments are approved to accomadate the nine programmes as follows:
1. Department of Mass Communication to run: B.Sc. Mass Communication; B.Sc. Advertising and B.Sc. Public Relations.

2. Department of Information and Media Studies to run: B.Sc. Information and Media Studies and B.Sc. Journalism and Media Studies.

3. Department of Broadcasting to run: B.Sc. Broadcasting and B.Sc. Film and Media Studies

4. Department of Development Communication to run: B.Sc. Development Communication and B.Sc. Strategic Communication.

“Finally, 95% of the staff are Ph.D. holders with 12 staff on professorial cadre,” he explained.

For more stories, follow us on Facebook @Nigerian Kicker.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles