19.9 C
Friday, February 3, 2023

ECOWAS Members To Withdraw Their Ambassadors From Mali

By Abdulkadir Mohammed

Member states of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have imposed more sanctions on Mali due to the current political crises in the country.

Among the latest sanctions to be implemented against the country are withdrawal of all ECOWAS Ambassadors from Mali.

Others are closure of land and air borders between ECOWAS countries and Mali, suspension of all commercial and financial transactions between ECOWAS member states and Mali.

However, essential consumer goods such as pharmaceutical products, medical supplies and equipment, including materials for the control of COVID-19 products and electricity are exempted.

Punitive measures against the military junta involves freezing of assets of Mali in ECOWAS Central Bank;

Freezing assets of the Malian State and the State Enterprises and Parastatals in Commercial Banks, as well as suspension of Mali from all financial institutions.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who represented President Muhammadu Buhari at the Extralordinary Summit held in Accra, Ghana on Sunday said ECOWAs has resolved never to accept Coups de’tat or unconstitutional take-over of government of any member country.



Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles