35.9 C
Friday, March 1, 2024

Kano Governor Yusuf Asks Residents To Stop Indiscriminate Dumping Of Refuse

As evacuation of Refuse continues in Kano metropolis, the State Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf, has warned residents to stop indiscriminate dumping of waste products especially on water ways and major roads.

The Governor gave the warning while receiving members of the Joint Taskforce Committee on Refuse Evacuation (Operation Nazafa), led by it’s Chairman, Ambassador Ahmadu zago who were at the Government House to brief him about the progress so far recorded in the evacuation exercise.

The Governor, who expressed delight over the smooth evacuation of long accumulated waste and other garbage said, Government would not tolerate any unguided behavior including Indiscriminate dumping of refuse.

Yusuf commended members of the Taskforce Committee for a “job well done” in carrying out over 600 trips of evacuating waste in 7 days operation.

He charged them to intensify efforts in mopping up the remaining waste in all nooks and crannies within Kano metropolis.

“The present Administration is committed to the safety and freedom from health hazards of the teeming populace of Kano. This could only be achieved through the provision of clean and tidy environment,” the Governor said.

A release issued by Director, Public Enlightenment, of Kano State Ministry of Environment, Ismail Garba Gwammaja said, the Governor was represented by the Secretary to the State Government Dr. Abdullahi Baffa Bichi, who also commended some private companies and construction firms “for supporting the Government in this process.”

The Governor later presented the notification of appointments to the members of the Taskforce Committee and enjoined them not to relent until Kano is Free from all forms of refuse.

The Committee had earlier briefed the Governor on their success since the beginning of the evaluation exercise.

Chairman of the committee, Alh Danzago restated members’ readiness to work assiduously for the betterment of Kano and people of the State.

The Committee Members are, Alh Ahmadu zago as Chairman, Engr. Mansur Yakubu as member, Alh Abbas Sunusi member.

Others are, Engr. Abdulrazak Haruna member, Sha’aya’u A. Jibrin member.

Bashir Nasidi member, Ismail Garba Gwammaja member, Hamisu muhd Umar as co-secretary and Aliyu Yakubu Garo as Secretary of the Committee.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles